APIBC holds 22nd AGM in Brisbane; Simon Gorman is new President

Dec 11, 2023 | Blog, News, Pacific

The Annual General Meeting of the Australia-Pacific Islands Business Council (APIBC) was held on 16 November 2023 in Brisbane.

The President, reflecting on the past year, highlighted the accomplishments and expressed gratitude for the opportunity to serve in the role for the last three years. He underscored the importance of fostering discussions with the Australian government to encourage business investments in the region. The President’s Annual Report was accepted, and Mr. Clarke received thanks for his leadership.

(L-R): William Blank, Simon Gorman, Denis Etournaud, Andrew Morris, Ian Clarke, Danielle Bailly, Frank Yourn.

The Treasurer presented the audited financial statements for the year ended June 30, 2023, revealing an operating surplus slightly below budget and the previous year. The financial statements were accepted, and appreciation was extended to Ms. Bailly for her dedicated financial management over the past five years.

The election of the Executive Committee saw the retirement of five members by rotation, with three seeking re-election. Seven candidates vied for five vacancies. The results, after ballots were tallied, declared Caleb Jarvis, Denis Grech, Luke Jackson, Sophie Boucaut, and Steve Hillyard as the newly elected members of the Management Committee.

Continuing Executive Committee members are Continuing executive committee members are:  Danielle Bailly (elected 2022), William Blank (2022), Greg Caisley (2022), Alain Etchegaray (2021), Denis Etournaud (2021), Simon Gorman (2022), Michael Kramer (2021), Chanh Lovan (2022), Peter Maletz (2022), Julie Miehe (2021), Andrew Morris (2021), Sarah Stubbings (2022).

The President expressed gratitude to both new and returning members. He encouraged unsuccessful candidates to remain engaged in Council activities and consider future nominations.

The meeting then moved to the election of office bearers, including the President, up to three Vice-Presidents, the Treasurer, and the ex-officio Immediate Past President. All office bearers, except the Immediate Past President, were required to retire by rotation at every Annual General Meeting.

The newly elected President, Simon Gorman, expressed appreciation for the work the former President Mr Clarke had done during his tenure as President.  He noted that Council’s core function is servicing the interest of members, while at the same time seeking to grow that membership and to revitalise and strengthen the Council at all times.

Mr Finn expressed his appreciation of the opportunity to serve on the executive committee for the last three years and noted the company would stay engaged in the work of the Council including through its elected nominee to the committee, Luke Jackson.


Mr Simon Gorman, Managing Director, Reeves International. Email: Simon.Gorman@ccbenvico.com

Mr Denis Etournaud, President, Bluescope ACIER NC Email: denis.etournaud@bluescopesteel.com
Mr William Blank, Associate Director – Development, Hall Contracting Email: williamblank@hallcontracting.com.au

Mr Andrew Morris, Business Development Manager, Pacific Marine Group Email: andrewm@pacificmarinegroup.com.au

Mr Frank Yourn, Executive Director, Australia Pacific Islands Business Council Email: frank@australiapacificbusiness.org.au

Mr Ian Clarke OBE (Ex-officio), Special Counsel and Consultant, Dentons Email: ian.clarke@dentons.com